Dadasaheb Phalke Awards

Named after the cinematic genius himself, The Dadasaheb Phalke award is the country’s highest honour one could get in the entertainment industry. Government started this award to honour the man who made the first full length feature film Raja Harishchandra in 1913 and went on to make some iconic films of his time. He is called the Father of Indian Cinema and to receive an award in his name is a glory that everyone wants. Many stars from Bollywood have been fortunate enough to receive this honour like Prithviraj Kapoor, Raj Kapoor, Lata Mangeshkar , Asha Bhosle and Manoj Kumar. Awarded under the National film awards, Dadasaheb Phalke awards are given to acknowledge the contribution of film personalities in the development of Indian cinema.

Dadasaheb Phalke award is a life time achievement award comprising a swarna kamal (golden lotus) medallion, a shawl and a cash prize of Rs. 10 Lakh to each of the winner. Actress Devika Rani was the first person honoured with this prestigious award in 1969, for her outstanding performances in the movies of 1930s-40s. And since then many celebrities have bagged this honour. The award even has a buzz among the audience as they wait the whole year for the announcement of the winner of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award. So we at TIMC bring you all the information related to this reputable award on our portal.

Click on the TIMC awards section to delve into the detailed list of the winners who have been awarded till date. Get all the information on who received the award in which year. Get to know what has been their contribution into the Indian cinema in terms of iconic films and soulful music. Get to know everything about the awards on TIMC.

Dadasaheb Phalke awards are not just awarded to those who are still doing phenomenal work in film industry but have given their life working in movies. The dynamic actor of his age, Prithviraj Kapoor, was awarded posthumously with the Dadasaheb Phalke award and his son Raj Kapoor received it on his behalf.  Spearheaded by Mr. Ashfaque Khopekar and ably supported by Babubhai Thiba and Parul Chawla, Dadasaheb Phalke awards recognize the efforts of those who face the camera and those who stay behind it. The esteemed jury includes experts like Mr. Anees Bazmee, Mrs. Saroj Khan, Mr. Ismail Darbar, Mr. Udit Narayan, Mrs. Runa Laila, Mr. Kamlesh Panday and Mr. Anup Jalota. So to stay updated with the awards tune in to TMC and rejoice all the information we put together for you.