5 Top cricketers who turned into politicians for the greater good!


A cricketer inspires an individual in numerous ways; hard work, discipline, health etc. Not only cricket, every sport requires dedication and hard work for winning. Yet some cricketers are known for their ethical behavior and career which made sure to make a difference in this not-so-good world.

After proving their worth in the cricket field, renowned cricketers--like Navjot Singh Sidhu, Imran Khan and many more--turned towards politician for the betterment of the society. Let's pay our tribute to such noble sports personalities which became impactful politicians.

Here is the list of 5 top cricketers who turned into politicians for the greater-good:

Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

A former captain of the Indian cricket team, Pataudi was regarded as one of India's greatest cricket captains. He was also considered as the 'best fielder in the world' during his time. Mansoor Ali contested in the general elections from Bhopal under Congress party in 1991 and eventually lost it. In the year 1971, he lost elections while contesting for Vishal Haryana party led by Rao Birender Singh.

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Navjot Singh Sidhu is a former Indian cricketer and television personality. He had a career spanning over 19 years as a professional cricketer, making his debut for India in 1983. After having retired from cricket, he turned to commentary and television. He joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2004 and contested the general election from Amritsar and won the election.

Sanath Jayasurya

The former Sri Lankan cricketer, Sanath Jayasuriya was considered as one of the greatest ODI players of all time. He had won many matches for his team with his powerful striking and all-around performances. He is the only cricketer who was also an active politician during his playing days. He jumped into politics in 2010 as a candidate for Matara District. Jayasuriya served as the Deputy Minister of UPFA government led by Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Mohammad Azharuddin

Azharuddin was an elegant middle-order batsman and led the Indian team in 47 Tests during 1990's. However, he was banned by the BCCI for life after being involved in a match-fixing scandal in 2000. In 2009, he joined the Indian National Congress party. Azharuddin won the Indian general election, 2009, from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh to become a Member of Parliament.

Imran Khan

The former Pakistan skipper, Imran Khan, started a political party 'Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf' after retiring from International cricket in 1992. He led Pakistan to victory at the 1992 Cricket World Cup. Imran Khan founded a political party in 1996, but he was unsuccessful during his initial era. After 22 years of humiliations, Khan may become the Prime Minister of Pakistan in the general election of 2018.

One thing is for sure that there is no age of starting a new career. Stay tuned for more sports related updates.

Next Post

Trending Posts

Other Categories

Around The World